For each contact to which you have subscribed, you can see their presence. Similarly, your contacts can see your presence on their Contacts list.

NOTE: Availability can also be referred to as presence status, which was the term used in previous releases of Hub. Availability means that your friends are able to see if you are available, for example, “I’m available” or “I’m busy”.

Icon

What it means

Contact Available

The green availability icon indicates that the user is online and ready for communication.

Contact Idle

The yellow availability icon indicates that the user is online on their Hub Desktop client, but has been idle or away from their computer for more than ten minutes.

Contact Busy

The red availability icon indicates that the user is busy and does not want to be disturbed.

Contact Offline

The grey availability icon indicates that the user is offline and the only available contact method is calling or leaving a chat message.

Contact Pending

The question mark indicates that a subscription is pending and the contact has not yet approved sharing their availability.

Contact On A Call

This icon indicates that the contact is busy on a call. This is an automated availability status.

Contact In A Meeting

This icon indicates that the contact is busy in a meeting. This is an automated availability status. The Busy – In Call status overrides the Busy – In Meeting status so this one is only seen if there is a meeting but no call.

You can manually set your own availability by tapping on the availability icon from the status bar in all tabs view. Tapping the availability icon opens the My status screen where you can change your avatar, personal message, and availability status.

Your avatar is the picture that represents you in your friends’ Contacts list and in chat screens. Tapping on an avatar opens a dialog with options to select an existing image, to take a new one with your phone camera, or to clear your avatar.

You can enter a status message in the area next to the avatar. This status text is shown in your friends’ Contacts list.

If you see the error message, “Chat Unavailable”, under any tab, it means that the XMPP connectivity has been lost for chat and availability; however, you can still make calls. In this case, you should contact your service provider.

The availability update is only triggered by appointments and meetings that are either accepted by the user or made by them. Note that all-day meetings do not trigger an availability change to Busy – In Meeting.