Chat Tab

The Chat shows the list of recent chats since the last login. If User A chats with User B multiple times, their discussions appear as one item in the list.

Tapping the name from the Chat list opens the Chat view (IM view) in the right pane where new messages can be typed. Old messages are also shown.

New incoming messages are indicated with a notification badge to the right of the name. The icon remains next to the name until the message is read.

Chats are listed so that the newest one is always at the top. Chats are not in alphabetical order and are always listed with the most recent first.

Tapping the menu button in the navigation bar displays the Start Group Chat and Mark all read options. The second one removes all notification badges from the Chat History list.


Chat

Start a chat using one of the following methods:

  • Tap a contact from the Contacts list to open a contact card. From the contact card, choose the chat icon to start a chat.
  • From the options provided after a long press on a contact.
  • In the Chat History list, tap a contact entry to start a chat.
  • From search results, tap a contact to open the contact card and then choose the chat icon.

When you initiate a chat, the Chat screen opens. Chatting with a contact is possible only when you are both online. If your contact initiates a chat, you see a notification badge on the Chat tab and the entry appears at the top of the Chat History list.

Once a chat opens, the name of the recipient is on the top bar and there is a presence icon flag before the name. The recipient’s messages are presented in the orange background and the user is presented in the white background.

Smiles can be added to messages by typing the corresponding character codes and by selecting from the smiley icons, (the smiley is displayed graphically in the message area).


Group Chat (Ad Hoc Rooms)

Start a group chat using one of the following methods:

  • In single chat session, tap the add participant icon to escalate from a single to a group chat.
  • In the Chat History list, tap a group communication entry to start a group chat.

When you initiate a group chat, the Chat screen opens. More participants can be added later to the chat using the add participant icon. Anyone in the group chat can add participants. However, removing participants is currently not supported.

A group chat works the same way as a one-on-one chat. All messages from anyone are sent to everyone else. All contacts need to be online to be able to participate in a group chat. You cannot invite an offline contact.

A group chat history is saved and is available to view later from the Chat tab.

A user can leave a group chat by selecting the Leave chat option. The chat is marked as “offline” and the user no longer receives messages from the chat. When tapping on the “offline” chat, the user re-joins the room and starts receiving messages. However, the user does not receive the messages that were sent in the chat while the user was outside of the room.

The Clear History menu item behaves the same way as the corresponding option in the one-on-one chat and removes the local history.

The View Participants button opens a dialog that shows the list of participants in the group chat.

Note that deleting a chat room is not supported.


Chat Recording

The Hub client can provide a chat recording indication to users of all chat sessions depending on the server’s configuration. A chat recording state is applied to all users registered in a single domain. This setting is not specific to any one user; therefore, the recording state cannot be modified by the user.


Chat Security Classification

The Hub client provides the ability to specify a security classification of a chat session. The security classification is configured on the server side and cannot be changed by the user. The security classification level for instant messaging is assigned to the entire domain and all users have same classification level. It is visible in all chat sessions (single and group).